Apr 13, 2017

District Announces 2017 POPs Awards

pickerington logo

Teachers and support personnel from around the district have received the 2017 “Pride of Pickerington” employee of the year awards for their individual buildings.

These building POPs winners were selected after a nomination process that included nominations by other staff members, voting within each building, and a review of the nominations by the building principals. Criteria included how well nominees represent the district in areas such as core values, work performance, dedication, collaboration and reflecting the Pickerington Schools mission.

The winners will now be considered for the district-wide Pride of Pickerington employee of the year awards. Those two winners will be announced at the May 22 meeting of the Board of Education. All building winners will be recognized at that meeting.

Through the Pride of Pickerington Schools Awards, the district recognizes excellence in teachers and support staff members in each building.

Congratulations to this year’s POPs building-level winners!

Certificated staff

  • Melissa Balko, Pickerington High School Central
  • Sarah Whitcraft, Pickerington High School North
  • MaryAnn Wharton, Lakeview Junior High School
  • Eileen McGarvey, Ridgeview Junior High School
  • Janet Jones, Toll Gate Middle School
  • Meghan McCurdy, Harmon Middle School
  • Greg VanKannel, Diley Middle School
  • David Zwiebel, Fairfield Elementary School
  • Sue Stack, Heritage Elementary School
  • Kerri Schill, Pickerington Elementary School
  • Regina Mastrangelo, Sycamore Creek Elementary School
  • Leanne Ross, Toll Gate Elementary School
  • Sarah Jones, Tussing Elementary School
  • Linda Podgurski, Violet Elementary School

Classified staff

  • Sue Shields, Pickerington High School Central
  • Debbie Murray, Pickerington High School North
  • Lu Bell, Lakeview Junior High School
  • Pat Petrini, Ridgeview Junior High School
  • Colleen Cepanec, Toll Gate Middle School
  • Gail Gerhard, Harmon Middle School
  • Lori Starkey, Fairfield Elementary School
  • Mary Grumman, Heritage Elementary School
  • Linda Andrews, Pickerington Elementary School
  • Janet Cundiff, Sycamore Creek Elementary School
  • Deanna Gray, Toll Gate Elementary School
  • Tammy Barletta, Tussing Elementary School
  • Donna Treneff, Violet Elementary School
  • Kitty Dellinger, District Office